Main | Story Previews
Adventure
 

January/February 2001



featured product



The American Road: Atlas & Travel Planner

U.S. $29.95
Features 133 pages of detailed road maps, guides to regional highlights, 36 scenic-drive itineraries, and a comprehensive guide to 28 top U.S. and Canadian national parks.

More in our store

Adrenaline Almanac
365 Days of Adventure

The best time to raft the Rio Grande? Climb Antarctica's highest peak? Watch the world's most spectacular wildlife migration take place? The answers are all in our adrenaline almanac, your guide to a year of living adventurously.

Get the full story in the January/February 2001 issue. Link to events and outfitters right here.

January

1 Junkanoo, Nassau, Bahamas. Related Web site: www.bahamas.com.
 
2 Dive Cuba. Related Web site: www.acuc.es/cuba0.htm
 
5 Ice fish for Nebraska walleye. Related Web site: www.ngpc.state.ne.us/fish/ice/ifweye.html.
 
6 Utah Winter Games. Related Web site: www.utahwintergames.org.
 
8 Climb Aconcagua. Related Web site: www.alpineclubofcanada.ca.
 
12 Ouray, Colorado, Ice Festival. Related Web site: www.ourayicefestival.com.
 
13 Winter Trails day. Related Web site: www.wintertrails.org.
 
14 Camel Wrestling Festival, Selçuk, Turkey. Related Web site: www.tourismturkey.org.
 
18 Total Paris-Dakar Rally. Related Web site: www.dakar.fr/2001.
 
19 Thorri, Icelandic winter-banquet month. Related Web site: www.iceland.org.
 
21 Ati-Atihan festival, Panay, Philippines. Related Web site: www.tourism.gov.ph.
 
24 Study leather back turtles, Las Baulas National Marine Park, Costa Rica. Related Web site: www.earthwatch.org.
 
25 Polo World Cup on Snow, St. Moritz, Switzerland. Related Web site: www.polostmoritz.com.
 
26 Crawlathon, Carter Caves State Resort Park, Kentucky. Related Web site: www.state.ky.us/agencies/parks/cartcave.htm.
 
27 Saint Paul Winter Carnival, Saint Paul, Minnesota. Related Web site: www.winter-carnival.com.
 
28 Survivor second-season premiere. Related Web site: www.cbs.com/survivor.
 
29 Cowboy Poetry Gathering, Elko, Nevada. Related Web site: www.westfolklife.org.
 
30 Up Helly Aa Viking festival, Lerwick, Scotland. Related Web site: www.shetlandtourism.co.uk.
 

February

1 King penguins hatch en masse, South Georgia Island. Related Web site: www.iaato.org.
 
2 "Backpack and Build" with Habitat for Humanity, Dunedin, New Zealand. Related Web site: www.habitat.org.
 
3 World Shovel Race Championships, Angel Fire Resort, New Mexico. Related Web site: www.angelfireresort.com.
 
4 Tough Guy race, England. Related Web site: www.toughguy.co.uk.
 
5 Mush from Mount Bachelor to Elk Lake, Oregon. Related Web site: www.sleddogrides.com.
 
6 Sapporo Snow Festival, Japan. Related Web site: www.auroranet.or.jp/~snowfes.
 
9 Winter Carnival, Steamboat Springs, Colorado. Related Web site: www.steamboatchamber.com.
 
10 Ice-diving course, Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire. Related Web site: www.maddogexpeditions.com.
 
11 Shackleton's Antarctic Adventure IMAX film debut, Science Place, Dallas. Related Web site: www.scienceplace.org/IMAX/IMAXindex.html.
 
14 Valentine's Day Sex Tour, San Francisco Zoo (adults only). Related Web site: www.sfzoo.org.
 
15 Book summer campsites at Yosemite National Park. Related Web site: http://reservations.nps.gov.
 
16 Avalanche course, Bear Mountaineering, British Columbia. Related Web site: www.bearmountaineering.ca.
 
17 Skijoring clinic, Rae's Harness Shop, Anchorage, Alaska. Related Web site: www.raesharness.com.
 
18 Trail crew work, Superstition Wilderness, Arizona. Related Web site: www.sierraclub.org/outings.
 
23 Trail crew work, Cumberland Trail, Tennessee. Related Web site: www.cumberlandtrail.org.
 
24 American Birkebeiner Nordic ski race, Wisconsin. Related Web site: www.birkie.com.
 
25 Wildlife ski tour, Yellowstone Association Institute. Related Web site: www.yellowstoneassociation.org.
 
26 Carnival, Trinidad and Tobago. Related Web site: www.carnivalncc.com.
 
27 Pancake Day, Liberal, Kansas. Related Web site: www.pancakeday.com.
 
28 BASE-jump Angel Falls, Venezuela. Related Web site: www.aerialfocus.com.
 

January/February 2001:  Previews | Gear Guide | Destination: Vegas | Ask the Expert | On Assignment | Photo Gallery | Q&A | Forum | Adventure 365
bottom nav line
bottom nav line
nationalgeographic.com nationalgeographic.com adventure