Terry Garcia
Executive Vice President,
Mission Programs

Susan Reeve
Manager, Special Projects, Expeditions Council

Mimi Koumanelis

Paula Willard

Mark Emon
Original Site Producer

Lara Bogle
Education Producer

Stacy Hoffhaus

Ted Chamberlain
Nancy Gupton

Text Editors

Margie DeLaine

Katy Wogec
Asset Acquisition

Helen Harris
Linda Rinkinen

Quality Assurance


All photographs and video by Kip Evans
unless otherwise indicated

Map data courtesy of National Geographic Books

Sylvia Earle
SSE Project Director

Francesca Cava
SSE Education Program Manager

Laura Francis
SSE Education Coordinator

Gale Mead
SSE Log Editor

Kip Evans
SSE Photographer

Bart Marable
Creative Director

Raymond Simmons
Mark Baltzegar


Angela Nida Marable
Production Assistant

Bart Marable
Mark Baltzegar



Special thanks to our partners at NOAA

Guidance and Oversight

Daniel J. Basta
Director, Special Projects Office Acting Director, National Marine Sanctuaries Program

Thomas La Pointe
Chief, National Communications Branch

Paula Keener-Chavis
National Education Coordinator/Marine Biologist
NOAA Office of Ocean Exploration


Web Production Team

Brian Johnson
Web Site Editor

Susan Holliday Buda
Site Production

Dave Lott
Technical Assistance

Bruce Moravchik
Site Production

Davida Remer
Site Production

Pam Rubin
Technical Editor

Craig Russell
Technical Assistance

Michael Shelby
Technical Director

© 1996-2003 National Geographic Society. All rights reserved.