Our Favorite Adventurers on Twitter – Updated 9/2

Who better to follow in 140 characters or less than our favorite explorers? We've put together a roster of tweeters, from eco-activist David de Rothschild to alpinist Ed Viesturs, to keep an eye on the ever-changing world of adventure.

This list is by no means final, so keep checking back to see who's been added. And, as always, tell us who we left out in the comment section below. We're particularly interested in adding gear manufacturers, conservation groups, and outfitters that are tweeting, so if you're out there, let us know.

Of course, you can also follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/ngadventure

See the full list after the jump.

National Geographic Explorers

+ Dan Buettner, longevity expert: twitter.com/BlueZones
+ Alexandra Cousteau, environmental advocate: twitter.com/ACousteau
+ Jane Goodall, primatologist: twitter.com/JaneGoodallInst/
+ Zahi Hawass, archaeologist: twitter.com/ZahiHawass
+ Louise Leakey, paleontologist: twitter.com/louiseleakey
+ Mireya Mayor, primatologist, reporter: twitter.com/mireyamayor
+ Borge Ousland, polar explorer: twitter.com/borgeousland
+ David de Rothschild, eco-adventurer: twitter.com/DRexplore
+ Michael Wesh, anthropologist: twitter.com/mwesch

Athletes

+ Lance Armstrong, cyclist: twitter.com/lancearmstronG
+ Gretchen Bleiler, snowboarder: twitter.com/gretchenbleiler
+ Jimmy Chin, climber/photographer: twitter.com/jimkchin
+ Trip Jennings, kayaker/filmmaker: twitter.com/TripJennings
+ Roz Savage, ocean rower: twitter.com/rozsavage
+ Kelly Slater, surfer: twitter.com/KellySlater
+ Shaun White, snowboarder: twitter.com/Shaun_White
+ Ed Viesturs, alpinist: twitter.com/Twiesturs

Adventurers at Large
+ Mark Beaumont, cycling the Americas (and climbing mountains): twitter.com/cyclingamericas

Tour Operators
+ Africa Adventure Consultants, president Kent Redding: twitter.com/kentredding
+ GAP Adventures, president Bruce Poon Tip: twitter.com/brucepoontip
+ ROW Adventures, rafting/kayaking: twitter.com/rowadventures

Book your next trip with Peace of Mind
Search Trips

Gear Companies

+ The North Face: twitter.com/thenorthface

+ REI: twitter.com/REI_CoOp

Writers

+ Steve Casimiro, NGA West Coast Editor: twitter.com/adventurevida
+ Costas Christ, NGA Global Travel Editor: twitter.com/CostasChrist
+ Nicholas Kristof, New York Times columnist: twitter.com/NYtimeskristof

Adventure-entrepreneur


+ Richard Branson, founder of Virgin: twitter.com/RichardBranson

 

Go Further

Subscriber Exclusive Content

Why are people so dang obsessed with Mars?

How viruses shape our world

The era of greyhound racing in the U.S. is coming to an end

See how people have imagined life on Mars through history

See how NASA’s new Mars rover will explore the red planet

Why are people so dang obsessed with Mars?

How viruses shape our world

The era of greyhound racing in the U.S. is coming to an end

See how people have imagined life on Mars through history

See how NASA’s new Mars rover will explore the red planet

Why are people so dang obsessed with Mars?

How viruses shape our world

The era of greyhound racing in the U.S. is coming to an end

See how people have imagined life on Mars through history

See how NASA’s new Mars rover will explore the red planet